Skip to content

#C25K Week 4 Update

May 22, 2011

I have been slack! Not so much with my running, but with my writing. Fortunately, my mom and I have been consistently running.

We ran the first three weeks without issue. We delayed only two days, both with good reason. Each week brings new struggles.

Week 1 was easy enough. It was more about forming habits than difficult running.

Day 1 of Week 2 was painful for me. I had a lot of pain in my shins. I’m not sure if I hadn’t stretched well enough or if I was dehydrated, but days 2 and 3 were easier.

Week 3 went very well. We both seemed to be finding our stride.

Week 4 we had to run separately. I was on a business trip to the annual STC Summit in Sacramento, California. (I’ll try to finish another post about my trip in the coming week.)

I found a running buddy for Sunday. The run went impressively well. I did not struggle and we carried on a conversation the entire run. Perhaps it was the cool weather, the energy of the conference, or just the change of scenery. I was supposed to run my second day while I was at the conference, but I couldn’t find the time or the energy.

My mom and I ran on Friday. When I say “we” ran, I mean she ran. I made it through the first two running intervals, but couldn’t find the strength to power through the remaining intervals. (This is difficult to admit.)

I’ve decided that while I am taking the time to run, I have to focus on training in other areas as well:

  • Sleep: 8 hours every night and, if possible, extra sleep the night before a big run
  • Food: Regular, filling meals that include a balance of protein, carbs, and fruits or vegetables
  • Water: Dehydration kills my runs! I have to drink several bottles of water each day and drink water while I run.

I did make up my run this morning. I still had a lot of pain in my shins and calves, but I did power through all of the intervals. I hope Week 5 will produce positive results, as the week ends in a 20-minute jog.

I am not happy to return to the hot, humid, South Carolina weather. It was much cooler and more comfortable in Sacramento, but I suppose I need to prepare for the harsh reality of the race I will run.

If you have been running, let me know how your training is going. Hopefully, it has been better than mine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 9:27 am

    Keep up the good work Jamie. I can show you some stretches on Wednesday that might help with your calves and shins. Stretching is REALLY important because shin splints lead to stress fractures and the only cure for stress fractures is rest. What race are you signed up for? Maybe I’ll join you.

    • May 25, 2011 10:04 pm

      Thanks for showing me those stretches. I think my body is just adjusting to the training.

      I will be running on July 4 at the FIrecracker 5000 in Hilton Head. We hope to do another 5K in the Upstate in the fall. I’m really looking forward to it. Thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

