Skip to content

Taking a Break

June 10, 2011

Occasionally, as I surf the Internet, I find various articles focusing on productivity.

I have found several that focus on Mark Twain’s advice:

“Eat a live frog every morning, and nothing worse will happen to you the rest of the day.”

By taking care of the toughest or most frustrating project first during your day, things can only get better.

I have also been reminded to turn off my e-mail, phone, or whatever distracting technology keeps me from being productive. Recently, I have managed these distractions through my work days.

But these aren’t the productivity suggestions I want to focus on today.

Just yesterday, my boss was planning to eat lunch at his desk to finish a project. I talked him into taking a break for lunch, reminding him that taking a break can improve focus. This method ultimately allows you to work faster and better.

As many of you know, I’ve been consistently training for a 5K. I decided I need to take a break from my training. Not long term. Tomorrow, I plan to do yoga. It will help my body take a break through stretching and relaxation. Sunday, I plan to run. I am supposed to run that day to keep on schedule, but I hope to shift my attitude. I am not going to force myself to run for 28 minutes straight. If I decided to walk, I’m not going to beat myself up.

This method has worked extremely well for me at work. A few short weeks ago, I enjoyed a change of pace at the annual STC Summit in Sacramento, CA. I learned about cool new technology, socialized with a lot of fun geeks (yes, geeks are fun!), and saw several amazing presentations. Since I returned to work from the conference, I have cranked out over four manuals which I have been working on for almost a year. My to-do list is the shortest it has been in quite some time.

So, I think it is time to apply these methods to my personal life. I hope this gives you some ideas on how to be more productive in your personal or professional life as you need it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 7:35 am

    I am so proud of you well you’ve stuck to this! I have just kind of quit, but maybe I should just get back to it where I am. Thank you for reminding me I didn’t quit: I’m just refocusing my energy, right? 🙂

    • June 11, 2011 10:58 am

      You’re exactly right, Gaby! I think as long as you have a plan to restart and you are truly trying to refocus, there’s no problem with that. There’s also no problem with just quitting. We get so caught up in finishing everything we start, when it isn’t always feasible.

      As soon as I run my 5K in a few weeks, I might take you up on that guest pass and run with you in the comfortable AC.

Leave a Reply

