Skip to content

Surprises

June 17, 2011

It amazes me how wrong my ideas about people are. When I first meet someone, I have some ideas about them. These ideas might be accurate or not. But I am quick to adapt these opinions as I get to know the person and I don’t consider these new opinions surprises.

However, this week, I have had two revelations about people I have know for years and years (and years).

If you knew my younger brother, Andrew, while he was a teen, you would never think he would be who he is today. Andrew has grown into a man who can speak Spanish better than English, has a million friends, has been to about ten countries, and is focused on the right things in life. Andrew is not afraid to try anything. He has studied abroad in Spain and Costa Rica, and took advantage of easy access to the surrounding countries.

But recently, Andrew started a blog: Love Like a Penquin. (Yes, he knows “penguin” is not spelled correctly.) His blog will be focusing on his summer internship with the Project Transformation in Texas. I never saw him as a writer. I am impressed with his writing and his thoughtfulness. It is amazing to see how he has changed in just the last three years.

I have been married to my husband for five years. I dated him for two years before we married. I have always known him as a music enthusiast. He has several friends who play guitar, ukulele, or bass. My husband plays drums. He has an acoustic drum kit, electronic drum kit, and bongos. So, I have always assumed that he plays only drums.

This week, I found out he is a singer. In all of his music ventures before me, he was the frontman. And he is an amazing singer.

My point in sharing this? You never fully know anyone. There is always something new to learn. There is always something you don’t know. And most of the time it is a pleasant surprise.

Be open minded. Don’t be afraid to share yourself with others. Take on new challenges. People are wonderful and have so much to offer. Learn everything you can about everyone you can.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    June 17, 2011 11:57 pm

    I knew your husband was a singer….but then again I’ve never heard him sing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

