Skip to content

Not That Kind of Blog

July 7, 2011
I read several other blogs.
 
I have a particularly talented friend, Gaby, who writes about her Hispanic, Caucasian, and African American-mixed family. She has been a guest blogger for several sites and looks deep into her life, her family, and her relationship with God. As I said, she is talented.
 
I have extended family members who blog. Jill, Katie, and Joel are each creative and unique. They focus on art projects and observations throughout their lives. They use images more than words. They, too, are talented.
 
My younger brother, Andrew, started a blog. His blog is honest and insightful. He has been to nearly ten countries, participated in several work-and-witness trips, and is never afraid to do anything. He is open about his experiences, his failures, and his ideas. He, of course, is talented.
 
I read a lot of professional blogs. These bloggers are talented because they can take a complex concept and explain all of the opportunities from this tiny idea. Or they offer suggestions to improve professional organizations, methods, or tools and help others avoid similar pitfalls.
 
This is not that type of blog.
 
I’m not sure what type of blog this is. Which is why I don’t blog as much as I would like. I’m unsure of my audience. I don’t want to bore creative types with the issues of professional organizations, the technical details of a project, or a description of the daily grind. But I don’t want to drive away a professional audience who will help me succeed in my career by not sharing my ideas about social media, technical communication, and how to handle work issues.
 
So how do I find that balance? Do I force my whole audience to suffer? Do I neglect part of my audience? Do I just make the blog entirely egocentric so I am the only one to benefit from my writing?
 
Right now, I don’t know the answer. I hope to do some professional guest posts so I can keep the original focus of my blog. But I want to include my colleagues in my personal life. My professional experiences are a *huge* part of who I am.
 
I hope to increase my blogging again, but I will be searching for direction. If there is something in particular you would like to hear about, please let me know.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 4:14 pm

    Don’t be afraid to blog about your work or about work-related ideas! That’s what I want to read. See my blog for my own work-related ideas (www.billalbing.com). I’m used to be involved with STC. I’m a tech writer who is doing a lot of user interface design and Web app help.

    • July 8, 2011 7:30 am

      Thank you for your input. I do hope to share some ideas about STC, communication as a whole, and how work affects the other areas of my life. I am glad to know that other tech writers are interested in what I share.

  2. July 7, 2011 4:15 pm

    I had the same sort of struggle when I started my blog. I couldn’t quite define it. I didn’t want to be restricted to a topic (like crafting) or always giving my opinion or ranting (too self-centered) or all professional (there’s more to me than being a teacher). I enjoy writing about whatever and whenever I want, so I jquit trying to fit a mold I do whatever I want! I don’t get a lot of followers and not much traffic, but I do it for myself primarily and I enjoy it. I’d like to hear more about your work and your beading.

    • July 8, 2011 7:32 am

      I am glad to know I am not alone in this struggle! I’m not particularly concerned with traffic, but I would like to keep the few readers I have interested. I think your suggested balance is direction I need to go. I will definitely share more about my work and beading. I will actually be attending a wire wrapping jewelry class this weekend during my visit at the grandparents. I will try to put together a post from that workshop.

      Thanks for your ideas!

  3. July 7, 2011 10:03 pm

    Hey, Jamie. First, thank you for the kind words and the plug-in 🙂 I actually started a post called “My blog has an identity crisis” because I often feel the same way you do. Is this an adoption blog? Is it a spiritual journey blog? Is it a parenting blog? And the answer to all is YES. See, someone once gave me a great piece of advice (you may know him for his Sunday sermons). He said: write about what you love and write for you. So I write what I feel inspired to write. There are lots of moments in my life that are blog worthy, but only a few that actually make it into a post. If I have to think too hard about how to write it, I just don’t. That’s why I don’t write but a couple of times at week at best.

    I could have a wider audience if I focused on one particular area like adoption, but then I would not be writing about all the other cool things that happen around me. The people that read an eclectic blog, I think, read it because they like your perspective in life, your writing, and who you are.

    So all this to say it is fine to have a blog that focuses on one particular area of your life (and really, that is important to increase your followers and traffic). But if your blog has an identity crisis, it’s also fine to write about what you love even if one week you write about work, and the next you write about marriage, and the next you write about your walk with God.
    Wow, that was a lot of information you didn’t ask for 🙂

    • July 8, 2011 7:38 am

      Thanks for your insight. Another problem I have is I get my best ideas when I’m at work, grocery shopping, or running when there is no way to stop and get my thoughts down on paper. I need to find a way to remember all of my ideas.

      And I don’t mind all of the extra information. It is always appreciated!

Leave a Reply

