Skip to content

I Remember

September 11, 2011

I remember when I was 14.

I remember sitting in Ms. Yates’ classroom.

I remember hearing the news that two separate airplanes had crashed into the World Trade Center towers.

I remember seeing the same video of the second plane over and over and over. After some time, they had video of the first plane. Only tourists had captured video of the first plane crashing into the first skyscraper at the exact moment. The second plane was captured by journalists covering the destruction of the first plane.

I remember seeing pictures of people jumping from buildings.

I remember hearing about two additional plane crashes, one into the Pentagon and another, which never reached its anticipated destination, near Shanksville, PA.

I remember my classmates talking while I sat quietly.

I remember thinking This is surreal. This can’t be happening.

I remember considering how everything would change. I imagined America would go to war with our attackers. We did, but not as expected. We couldn’t attack a single country. How do you attack an organization? How do you attack unknown soldiers?

I remember thinking everyone would sacrifice. Many would go to defend our country. Others would work to support our soldiers.

I remember the one person I know who gave his life to defend our country. He was my husband’s friend. He was my friend’s brother. He was my friends’ son. And not one of us will ever forget him and the sacrifice he made fighting for a cause he believed in.

But things haven’t changed as I expected. My daily life has not been directly affected. I go to work. I go home. I spend time with my family and friends. I haven’t had limited access to select products because our soldiers need materials for war.

Today, we all remember those we lost, those who fight, and those who restore the hope the buildings represented. And, today, we pray that such a tragedy never happens again, here or elsewhere.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grant Libramento permalink
    September 11, 2011 11:03 pm

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

