Skip to content

The Work Week

October 24, 2011

I love when the work week begins …

… with a late morning! (Ha!)

I was happy to see the e-mail that we would be starting at 10:00 am on Monday, rather than 8:30 am. A few colleagues from another European plant would be flying in that morning. I was able to sleep in and take my time getting ready. Traffic was relatively good. We made it to the plant within 50 minutes.

A View of the City

Work consists of training in a meeting room and practice on the new equipment in manufacturing. I capture the information I need and catch up on e-mails in the meantime.

When we return to the hotel, my boss leaves me to have dinner on my own. I wander the streets for a few minutes. The beauty of Antwerp is the ability to find a good restaurant without too much risk. The menus are posted outside.

Mussels and Frites

I decide to have dinner at Brasserie de Valk, a restaurant with a nice outdoor area to enjoy mussels and frites, my favorite Belgian dish. The weather is comfortable and the square is quiet. After my meal, I enjoy crème brûlée for dessert. (Hint: If you ever want to bribe me, a good crème brûlée might just do the trick.)

I might not do consistent posts for the remainder of this week because it will only be work and dinner. If I find the time, I will post about a tourist attraction from a previous visit or restaurant review. If not, I will pick up with the continuation of my journey, returning home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grant permalink
    October 24, 2011 9:06 pm

    We are enjoying the tour!

Leave a Reply

