Skip to content

Inspiring for All of the Right Reasons

November 28, 2011

We should all have inspiring individuals in our lives. And we should all aim to inspire someone else.

I have recently been blessed to hear a lot of great praise. It has warmed my heart to know so many people around me feel so touched. They are happy to return a favor. They share their stories of an amazing woman who handles anything life sends her way with grace. I’ve heard words like unassuming, giving, and strong.

But these words have not been used to describe me. They have been used to describe a better woman: my mother.

My mom’s birthday was last week, but she couldn’t go to church because my dad had broken his leg a few days before. Everyone was offering to take a meal or help her around the house. Three of her friends gave me gifts to deliver to her.

This morning, a woman at church shared how she has always admired my mother. She told me how she was amazed by mother’s insight to go back to school as a non-traditional student before being a non-traditional student was traditional enough. She told me how impressed she is with the way my mom handles anything life may throw her way.

Other women depend on my mom for accountability and honesty. I know I do. She provides prayer to any woman who needs it. She has a level of compassion and understanding that I hope and pray I will inherit one day. She will listen for hours to a friend’s problems. She celebrates and mourns as her friends celebrate and mourn.

My mom silently reminds me that I must always strive to be a better woman, a better wife, and a better friend. She rarely tells me how to live my life, but always guides me without speaking a word.

Mom reminds me that I must live my life for the right reasons without looking for recognition or confirmation. She is always inspiring, always for the right reasons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 11:22 am

    What a wonderful person your mother must be, and what a wonderful tribute you’ve written. It’s inspired me.

    Your first two sentences contain a great deal of wisdom. Surely the secret to inspiring others is to find people who constantly inspire us.

Leave a Reply

