Skip to content

And Here is My First 2012 Summit Post

June 18, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to go to Chicago for the annual Society for Technical Communication Summit. This was my third year attending the conference, which is always a great opportunity to change my environment, learn more about my field, and network with amazing people.

I know most of the people I will spend time with. I consider my peers as my friends. Several of us arrived to Chicago a couple of days early to see the city. I can now mark the Lincoln Park Zoo and the Buckingham Fountain off my list of places to see.

Obviously, there are education sessions where you can learn from the best in the industry. I was honored to be among this year’s speakers, and I am already preparing ideas for my proposal for next year’s conference. I have learned which great speakers I want to see time and time again. When you first attend a conference, you pick your sessions based on topics. As you get to know who the best speakers are, you beginning balance the session titles with who is presenting the session.

One of the best things about the Summit is that I receive affirmation that the methods I use are innovative or, at the very least, acceptable. I also enjoy learning about how my peers are being recognized within their organizations as more than someone who makes content pretty or sound good. Management is befinning to understand our value.

We also benefit from the Expo, which allows attendees to speak with potential vendors, discuss issues with experienced consultants, and look for work with the contracting agencies.

I also enjoy attending the Honors Banquet. Aside from a great excuse to wear my formal wear, it is an opportunity to celebrate with fellow professionals as they are awarded for the volunteer and professional efforts.

Over the next few days, I will be sharing my experiences with you about the STC Summit. I will highlight select sessions and recognize award winners. In the meantime, here are a few pictures of the city:

Buckingham Fountain (Photo by Michael Opsteegh)

The Chicago Theatre

Chicago at Sunset

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

