Skip to content

In A Perfect World …

June 30, 2012

… there wouldn’t be a need for the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA).

And I don’t mean this as in-a-perfect-world-there-would-be-no-sickness kind of way. I mean this in a there-should-be-no-need-for-this-act-because-people-should-be-better-than-this kind of way.

Let me explain.

First, I’m not usually a political person, but the most recent issues have become of increasing interest to me.

Second, I hear views from both politic sides on a regular basis. On Facebook, I am friends with more Republicans. This is primarily because of my geographic location. Everyone knows that South Carolina leans far right. And because I don’t add people to Facebook that I haven’t met, most of my friends are from my small town in the South. On Twitter, I follow more outspoken Democrats. I have connected with these friends through conferences and other friends on Twitter. I feel fortunate to have these contrasting views shared with me on a daily basis. It challenges me to consider both sides. I can see the good and bad of both aspects.

Third, I attend a church that promotes the idea that God is Love. We believe that we should serve Jesus by serving others. The Bible tells us that we should care for the least of these, for those who need us most, for those who cannot help themselves.

In an ideal world, Christians and people from other loving faiths and other generous individuals would help those who will be benefiting from this act. If an individual was sick and unable to pay for their medical bills, they could reach out to friends and family. They could reach out to the church. They could reach out to nonprofits in the area to meet their needs. (And the nonprofits would have shelves full of supplies to meet those needs.)

Unfortunately, Christians are not fulfilling their mission. We are not showing the love that Jesus demanded of us. If anything, we are showing hate. I often hear Christians talk down about those who need government benefits. I hear people who say that they should just work harder. They should have saved more. They should have taken better care of themselves.

An unexpected medical condition can happen to anyone. What about the man who has worked at the same company for 35 years, but got cancer and couldn’t perform his work? He’s now out of a job without insurance to pay for his disease. What about the woman who was working two part time jobs, but doesn’t have affordable insurance available through her employer? She can’t continue working when due to an illness that tears at her joints on a daily basis.

I don’t believe the government should regulate every aspect of our lives, but the government should aim to make our country a successful country where each individual has a reasonable chance. I won’t try to argue what our founding fathers did or did not want for this country, because I don’t know what they would want. And neither do you.

But I will say that if we as individuals were more willing to help those who need it, and if those who asked for help weren’t shamed for doing so, then the ACA wouldn’t be necessary.

I know I don’t give as much as I could, and writing this post has been a personal challenge for me. I hope to help those that I can when they need it. And I hope you have been challenged as well.

I know some of us are more fortunate than others. And I know some of us help in other ways. But I also know that most of us could give more than we do.

For coverage on the Supreme Court’s decision, visit http://www.scotusblog.com/. (Their live coverage of the Court’s decision was exceptional, followed by a round up of various views and commentary.)

To find out how the healthcare act will directly affect you, check out the Washington Post‘s online tool to determine your coverage and costs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

